Honoring Detachment Marine of the Year

“You are part of the world’s most feared and trusted force. Engage your brain before you engage your weapon.”

Gen. James “Mad Dog” Mattis, USMC Ret, (Mattis’ Letter To 1st Marine Division)

Red 5 - Small

Marines of Treasure Valley Detachment
Marine Corps League
selected by a committee of their piers as Marine of the Year.

Ribbon-Marine of Year Detachment

Name Year Honored for Name Year Honored for
No one selected 1995 Arthur H. Kilton 2011
Robert G. Daly 1996 Richard C. Erickson 2012
Frederick V. Kee 1997 Walter D. Modler 2013
Robert Smith 1998 Harold B. Kwan 2014
Ralph D. Elston 1999 Garrett V. Randel Jr. 2015
Michael L. R. Meade Sr. 2000 David G. Swickard 2016
Gordon H. Williams 2001 Walter D. Modler 2017
Thomas T. Butler Jr. 2002 Richard A. Keplinger 2018
No one selected 2003 Harry Y. (Skip) Nakashima 2019
Robert Smith 2004 David G. Swickard 2020
Ken Ohls 2005 Walter D. Modler 2021
Kenneth W. Johnson 2006 2022
Arnold W. Strawn 2007 2023
No one selected 2008 2024
Donald E. Griffith 2009 2025
William C. Sawyer 2010 2026

This award shall be presented to a REGULAR MEMBER of the Marine Corps League who has rendered service(s) and/or performed a deed(s) above and beyond the duties and obligations required of a member of the Marine Corps League, or a meritorious deed(s) so identified as being within the scope of these rules shall be of such substance that the weight will or shall have brought acclaim and prestige to the Marine Corps League; or has enhanced and/or furthered the concepts of the duties of being a citizen of the United States of America; or a deed(s) of courage or valor without regard for his/her own safety.

Guidance for the selection of Detachment Marine of the Year from Detachment Bylaws.

“The Marines will never disappoint the expectations of their country – NEVER!”

Captain C. W. Morgan, US Navy